Center Members to receive Warren F. Savage Memorial Award

Posted: June 1, 2016

Graduate Student Tao Dai (OSU) and Faculty Member John Lippold (OSU) have won the 2016 Warren F. Savage Memorial Award. This award, presented by the American Welding Society, recognizes the paper published in the Welding Journal during the previous calender year that best represents innovative research resulting in a better understanding of the metallurgical principles related to welding. This award is endowed by former associates of Professor Warren F. Savage to honor his dedication and accomplishments in the field of welding metallurgy.

The winning paper was titled “Transformation and Tempering Behavior of the Heat-Affected Zone of 2.25Cr-1Mo Steel” and was printed in the 2015 August Issue of the Welding Journal.